I Like To Hide

I don’t find it easy to admit my shortcomings.  I hide them.  I cover them up.  I am far better than I used to be.  Still, if I have done something wrong, then I do not want you to know.  Let me give you some examples.

I am willing to work quite hard at the last minute to cover up for my previous procrastination.  Anyone else act like me sometimes?  It is no problem at all for me to work really hard in the last twenty minutes because I failed to work at all for the first two years.  Some people think this is a good thing!

Another example comes from when I was much, much younger.  I would go and take some extra snacks or sweets from the kitchen.  I would go eat them in secret.  Where did the wrappers go?  Not in the bin!  They jst got stuffed somwhere aorund the house.  SOmeone else would find them and have to clean them up and it was not very pelasant for them.

I gave that up when I was twenty-nine.

Now my own kids do the same thing!

It’s terrible, isn’t it?

I was cleaning out one of the wardrobes a couple of weeks ago and found an empty yogurt pot int he top of the wardropbe with the sppoon still in it.  I was disgusted!  Why would someone do that?

We cover things up, don’t we?  That has been me.

Those are kind of lighthearted and maybe we can laugh about them.  There are other things we cannot talk about, much less laugh about.

Why do we do this?

Well, for me, hiding is always easier than confessing.  

I think, in some way or another, we are all a little like that.  All of us know the temptation to hide instead of confess.  As adults, the things we try to hide are more serious.  We cover up things we feel really, really ashamed of.

What does God say about our hiding?

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.  -1 John 1:9

Stop hiding.  Confess.  Be forgiven.  Be purified.  Live in the light.

 

This is an excerpt from the sermon on Sunday morning.  To listen to the sermon in full, please click here.

 

Leave a Reply

